The God that redeems.

Tonight, I thumbed through an old journal of mine. The leather book was filled with two years of my life. Two impactful, life-changing, and raw years of my life. So, I sat in my bed and read today’s date from last year and the year before. Two years ago today, I was not a Christian. I had yet to have my Damascus Way experience. One year ago today, I began to step out into the unknown with the Lord as I walked with Him by myself. I began to notice that the entirety of those two years bound in leather were a picture painted with grace and redemption.

Sometimes we don’t see redemption in the process. We lose sight of God’s mercy that is poured over us in the midst of the planting season. March 21, 2015 was a day that I was asking for more of God, but not sensing anything real. Day after day I would journal something similar, until June 14, 2015. I couldn’t see the redemption of my soul that day, but the soil and the seed had been planted.

March 21, 2016 was a day that I began to step out of the last chapter of my life and step into the grace and community Jesus was calling me to. I began to step out of bitterness towards failed things and people, even when I felt like things still weren’t looking like what I had pictured for this season. I couldn’t see the journey that would radically change my walk with the Lord then. I didn’t see myself boldly praying outloud, going to ministry school, going on missions to Peru, and running my race with a community so dear to my heart. All I saw was a girl who was insecure about the water God was calling her to walk on.

March 21, 2018 will be a day that I see the fruit of the seeds I have been planting in prayer. It will be the day where I see what this current process is for. But instead of being stuck in today where I am struggling to seek Jesus, I will declare the goodness of the Lord in my tomorrows. The Bible proclaims, “Surely goodness and mercy will follow me all the days of my life, and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord forever” (Psalm 23:6). If the Bible says it, then I declare and claim it for my own life.

Because, my God is a god that redeems!! Redemption was done and sealed when His blood spilled out at Calvary, but it also continues to happen as His Spirit moves into every room of my soul. Our Jesus is too kind and loving to leave us where we are. Live expectant of your redemption.

Leave a Reply

