How to be content when God is quiet.

I’ve learned many things growing up in church. Still now as a young Christian, I’m diving in and discovering more about our God. Like how God physically walked in the garden of Eden. Or that old song every kid in Awanas learned to memorize the order of the gospels.

I’ve learned a good bit. However, the most important thing I’ve come to know is that I will never be able to fully comprehend God. I mean think about it. God is SO big. He surpasses any capacity we could put Him in. So, despite the fact that we learn and read the Word…. our Father remains a beautiful mystery.

When I would read books like Crazy Love by Francis Chan or read descriptions of Heaven in the Bible, my version of God and the spiritual realm was blown to pieces. This scared me at first, but now I think it is by far the coolest thing about God–that He is so very big and there is no way for me to learn every thing about Him. It kind of takes the pressure off. I don’t have to be worried that if I forget one fact about Jesus, or don’t fully get the Trinity, or can’t comprehend a verse that I’ll be scratched off of Heaven’s roll call. God Himself says, “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts” Isaiah 55:8-9.

With that in mind, I don’t understand why God is silent sometimes. I don’t understand why He doesn’t audibly speak to me instead of using gentle whispers, because in my small minded ways that seems better. But I do get that God is God. Like it or not, the very moment you invite Him in He floods your heart and your life with His presence. The moment He knocked on your heart and you answered, you died to yourself. This life is no longer yours, but now it’s His.

When God is silent, He’s silent. When God makes you wait, you must wait. When God tells you His plans, you better believe He will set you up to accomplish them. God reigns over your life in the sweetest way possible, and the only thing you can do when He shifts your reality to set you up for something bigger is to just simply obey reverently.

When you’re in this season of waiting or maybe even you feel spiritually dehydrated, learn to be content. Be fully content and okay with where God has you, because He put you there for a reason. He, the Creator of the Universe, thought about this very moment in your walk with Him before He created the world. Rest in that, and learn to find joy in the little things that seem annoying due to your impatience.

Also, learn to see God’s hand when you don’t hear His voice. In this season of waiting and lack of spiritual fire, I’ve noticed God’s hand everywhere. The little answers to prayers will stack up, and you won’t believe how much He is listening. When you pray for a good parking space and He gives you front row. When you pray for an okay grade on a test you feel unprepared for but end up acing it. When you pray for the opportunity to meet new people and God sets the stage for introductions. That’s God. That’s His hand over you. That’s His silent whisper saying, “I’ve got you.” God has got you even when you feel like He has completely walked away. 

So take this time to observe God’s hand. The more of it you see, the more joy will over pour from your heart. The more joy you have, the more you radiate Jesus to the world. And hey maybe that’s why God gives us quiet seasons all along.

Wait patiently with a content heart. He’s up to something great, friend. 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

