When the enemy strikes.

The enemy. Who is he? Why does he torment us?

The enemy is that little voice that whispers, “You’re not good enough. You’re not the Christian you should be. God isn’t speaking to you, so you must not have that great of a relationship with him. God’s given up on you and you’re not saved anymore. You couldn’t possibly please God because of your past. Don’t trust God, because you could fix this situation. Do what you want, it’s not wrong. This is YOUR life.”

The enemy is the one who fills your head with these lies and almost always gets you to feel defeated and like these whispers are truths. Why does he do this? We’ve all heard the answer that the enemy comes to “steal, kill, and destroy” our peace, happiness and joy. But he also tries to get you off of God’s path. Unfortunately, he’s pretty successful. I think we’ve all fell victim to Satan’s lies. He paints them as half truths, so that way you start to semi believe him. He whispers more. The more he whispers, the more you’re drawn in to believe those. No one is safe from his attempts, not even if you’re a child of God. I’ve noticed that ever since I surrendered my life to Christ, the whispers grew in number and just as I was at the brink of doing something for the glory of God…he showed up and instantly tried to discourage me from it. If you’re feeling the weight of his lies on your shoulders, I’m here to tell you that you’re completely normal. I feel them, too. Every Christian does.

But the great thing about these whispers is the fact that Satan does this because he’s scared! He’s been defeated. He’s already lost the war. I think as Christians, we forget what Jesus really did on that cross sometimes. I admit, I fail to think of the magnitude of the cross daily! But in this moment, I’ve come to realize that we battle an enemy daily that has already been defeated. The Bible says, “For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms” Ephesians 6:12. We constantly fight this battle and wage war with the enemy and his tricks, yet our Savior has already defeated him. We let him take root in our lives and attempt to start a fight with us, when Jesus himself said, “It is finished.” 

This isn’t to say that because Jesus has already settled the score that we won’t ever face the enemy’s constant hissing in our ears. We will, because he will do anything to get us off track. But what I’m getting at is that we don’t have to battle him. He’s already lost. We just have to choose to ignore the lies. “Therefore, submit to God. But resist the devil and he will flee from you” James 4:7.

This may be super lengthy and maybe a little scattered, but I say all of this to show you that whatever lies he’s whispering in your heart right now… They’re lies and they have no power over you. I say this also to preach to myself, because the enemy gets the best of me a lot. So whenever he strikes, resist. Hold your ground and pray, “God, you’ve already won. I choose to believe your words and your truths because you love me and chose to die for me, so I would not have to battle this alone.” Do that, and you’re golden.

 

Leave a Reply

